Bryan Municipal Utilities Earns Diamond RP3 Designation

BMU is proud to announce that it has achieved the Reliable Public Power Provider (RP3) Diamond designation from the American Public Power Association (APPA), placing BMU among the best-of-the-best public power utilities nationwide. Recognition by the RP3 program reveals a utility’s commitment to its employees, customers, and community, as well as its dedication to operating and managing an efficient, safe, and reliable power system.

APPA announced RP3 recipients on March 28th at the Association’s annual Engineering & Operations Technical Conference in Austin, Texas. APPA is the voice of not-for-profit, community-owned utilities that power 49 million people in 2,000 towns and cities nationwide.

The RP3 designation lasts for three years and recognizes public power utilities that demonstrate proficiency in four key disciplines: reliability, safety, workforce development, and system improvement. Criteria include sound business practices and a utility-wide commitment to safe and reliable delivery of electricity. BMU joins 275 public power utilities nationwide that hold the RP3 designation.

BMU first received Platinum Level RP3 designation in 2006. In 2019, and now for the second time, BMU has achieved Diamond Level status – APPA’s highest designation level. There are three possible levels of designation: Gold, Platinum, and Diamond.

The RP3 application asks questions in four disciplines and is evaluated by a panel of 18 industry experts. The Diamond designation signifies that a utility has met over 98 percent of the evaluation criteria.

“We couldn’t be prouder to be honored with this Diamond designation,” said Nathan Gardner, Director of Utilities. “This is the combination of a lot of work from a lot of people who really care about our community. All of our employees are committed to continuing this tradition and will continue to look for ways to improve our operations and service to our customers.”

The American Public Power Association has offered the RP3 designation for 15 years now. The Association advocates and advises on electricity policy, technology, trends, training, and operations.

Congratulations to BMU’s hard-working Electric and Power Plant crews.
From Lt to Rt – Tim Moes – AJ Geren – Power Plant Superintendent Jim Coressel – Kevin Douglass – Brent Hulbert – Tom Wheeler – Justin Rupp – Whit Longcore – Kevin Rau – Brandon Suffel – Adam Brandt – Jay Smith – Electric Superintendent Al Sullivan – Lee Steinke – John Degroff – Shane Smith
Missing from the photo – Brad Plummer – Jay Zigler – Justin Waldfogel